Dagstuhl Castle Ruins near Wadern
The first official documentary mention of Dagstuhl Castle dates back to 1290. The castle was built around 1290 by Knight Boemund of Saarbrücken, probably for Bohemond von Warnesberg, the archbishop of Trier. The name "Dagstuhl" derives from the German word for roof (Dach), because of the roof-like shape of the hill on which the castle stands. The medieval hill castle comprises an elaborate complex which measures over 300 metres in length with an outer bailey on the northern side and a defensive fortification with moat, ramparts and two bastions on the southern side. Since the 1980s, the castle ruins have been archaeologically explored and were improved for public access from 2003 to 2010. Two impressive bridges span over the two neck ditches, so that visitors can access the castle complex in a historically authentic fashion.